CHINE

Lot 159
Got to lot
Estimation :
100000 - 150000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 200 000EUR
CHINE
Large clock with automata in the form of a basin containing lotus leaves, buttons or seeds in gilded copper; the buttons blooming at the same time as the control of a music box; the surface of the basin representing foliage and fish in a simulated wave. The basin in cloisonné enamel with rich decoration of foliage, dragons, polychrome characters...standing out on a celestial blue background; it also presents four panels in "Canton" enamel with decoration for the largest, of a scene animated with three characters, and for the two small ones of lake landscapes; they are framed with friezes in chased and gilded bronze with foliage and foliage set with coloured glass, decoration which we find again on the collar in alternation of colours. The enamelled dial (one chip) indicates the hours in Roman numerals and the minutes in Arabic numerals in increments of fifteen; the pierced steel hands; the mechanism (probably European and adapted for the occasion in China) controls the bell and triggers the music box.
Late Qing period.
H: 165 cm.
After reaching Europe, the fascination with instruments for counting and demonstrating time was introduced into imperial China in the 17th century, evidently by European missionaries mainly from France and England. Gradually the nucleus of an imperial clock collection took shape, initially with imported models, but also with genuine creations made by European craftsmen attached to the court and by Chinese clockmakers trained by them. Throughout the Qing Dynasty, the successive reigns of the emperors Shunzhi (1644-1661), Kangxi (1662-1722), Yongzheng (1723-1735) and Qianlong (1736-1795) were marked by a growing interest in clocks, the most elaborate and sophisticated of which were "musical and automaton". Without talking about a passion, the Emperor, through a powerful centralized administration, organized his collection. Thus, from the beginning of the 18th century, many clocks were included in the Emperor's collection, which led to the creation of a "musical clocks bureau" and a "clock-making bureau", both of which were responsible for managing the collection, acquiring clocks from abroad, maintaining them and making new models, most of which are kept throughout the Forbidden City and other imperial palaces.
Thus, for more than two centuries many clocks were made and even today some of them are kept in Chinese public collections. Finally, concerning the model that we propose, let us particularly note that two similar clocks are listed: the first musical clock, also with automata, is exhibited in the "Hall of Watches and Clocks" of the famous Forbidden City in Beijing; it is distinguished by its original composition, consisting of a copper and cloisonné enamel bowl made in the Province of Guandong containing a French-made music box, as well as a clock movement and mechanism designed by the "Bureau de l'Horlogerie" which operate leaves and lotus flowers blooming to reveal a fruit; the second, also dated from the late Qing period and enclosed in a bowl made entirely of chased, guilloched and gilded copper, was recently sold on the Paris Art Market (Hôtel Drouot, Maîtres Gros & Delettrez, 5 June 2019, lot 218).
Experts : Cabinet ETIENNE-MOLINIER
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CHINE

Lot 159
Aller au lot
Estimation :
100000 - 150000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 200 000EUR
CHINE
Grande pendule à automates sous la forme d'un bassin contenant des lotus en feuilles, boutons ou graines en cuivre doré ; les boutons s'épanouissant en même temps que la commande d'une boîte à musique ; la surface du bassin représentant des feuillages et des poissons dans une onde simulée. Le bassin en émail cloisonné à riche décor de rinceaux, dragons, personnages polychromes...se détachant sur un fond bleu céleste ; il présente également quatre panneaux en émail «de Canton» à décor pour les plus grands, d'une scène animée de trois personnages, et pour les deux petits de paysages lacustres ; ils sont encadrés de frises en bronze ciselé et doré à feuillages et rinceaux sertis de verre coloré, décor que l'on retrouve sur le col en alternance de couleurs. Le cadran émaillé (un éclat) indique les heures en chiffres romains et les minutes en chiffres arabes par tranches de quinze ; les aiguilles en acier repercé ; le mécanisme (probablement européen et adapté pour la circonstance en Chine) commande la sonnerie et déclenche la boîte à musique.
Fin de l'époque Qing.
H : 165 cm.
Après avoir gagné l'Europe, la fascination pour les instruments destinés au décompte du temps et à sa démonstration furent introduits dans la Chine impériale dès le XVIIe siècle, de toute évidence par des mission­naires européens essentiellement venus de France et d'Angleterre. Petit à petit le noyau d'une collection impériale d'horloges prit forme ; dans un premier temps, des modèles importés, mais également en parallèle de véritables créations réalisées par des artisans européens attachés à la Cour et par des horlogers chinois formés par ces derniers. Tout au long de la Dynastie Qing, les règnes successifs des empereurs Shunzhi (1644-1661), Kangxi (1662-1722), Yongzheng (1723-1735) et Qianlong (1736-1795) furent marqués par un intérêt de plus en plus marqué pour les hor­loges, «musicales et à automates» pour les plus élaborées et les plus perfectionnées. Sans pour autant parler de passion, l'Empereur, par le biais d'une administration centralisée puissante, organisa sa collection. Ainsi, dès le début du XVIIIe siècle, de nombreuses horloges figuraient sans la collection de l'Empereur ce qui entraîna la création d'un «bureau des horloges musicales», ainsi que d'un «bureau de l'horlogerie», les deux structures ayant pour but la gestion de la collection, mais égale­ment l'acquisition de pendules à l'étranger, ainsi que leur entretien et la fabrication de nouveaux modèles pour la plupart conservés dans toute la Cité interdite et les autres palais impériaux.
Ainsi, pendant plus de deux siècles de nombreuses pendules furent fabriquées et encore de nos jours certains exemplaires sont conservés dans les collections publiques chinoises. Enfin, concernant le modèle que nous proposons, relevons particulièrement que deux pendules sim­ilaires sont répertoriées : la première pendule musicale, également à automates, est exposée dans «le Hall des Montres et des Horloges» de la célèbre Cité interdite à Pékin ; elle se distingue par sa composi­tion originale, formée d'une vasque en cuivre et émaux cloisonnés réal­isée dans la Province de Guandong contenant une boite à musique de fabrication française, ainsi qu'un mouvement horloger et un mécanisme conçus par le «Bureau de l'Horlogerie qui actionnent des feuilles et des fleurs de lotus s'épanouissant pour dévoiler un fruit ; la seconde, égale­ment datée de la fin de l'époque Qing et renfermée dans une vasque entièrement en cuivre ciselé, guilloché et doré, a été vendue récemment sur le Marché de l'Art parisien (Hôtel Drouot, Maîtres Gros & Delettrez, le 5 juin 2019, lot 218).
Experts : Cabinet ETIENNE-MOLINIER
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue